Anti-Slavery Society formed in Newbury

Society formed in Newbury (Belleville) on Oct. 29th

Officer chosen:   President – Joseph N. Jackman      Vice President – Deacon Josiah L. Atkinson  

Cor. Secretary – Nathan Griffin     Rec. Secretary – John L. Lord    Treasurer – Stephen Little, Jr.

Managers – Abner Little, Alexander Whittier, E.C. Tenney, Elizabeth T. B. Wright.

We have since established an Anti-Slavery Library, and the Society numbers 50  members

(Liberator, Nov 23, 1838,  pg 2)