New States: Nebraska, Colorado, Nevada

The New States     Enabling acts have passed the House of Representatives for the admission of Nebraska, Colorado, and Nevada into the Union.    For the first time in the history of legislation on this subject, the enabling acts afford a perfect safeguard for the freedom of the new States.  ————

(Liberator, 1864, May 13, pg 3)