An Anti-Slavery Society in Illinois

Putnam County. Illinois,  Feb 6, 1834

Mr. Garrison:  “….I will give you a short account of our Anti-Slavery Society…..the following is the binding part of the Constitution, or that part which sets forth the principles of the Society ……..

With difficulty eleven names were got to sign the Constitution, and the officers were elected:

President, Samuel D. Laughlin, Esq.;   Vice President, Wm. Stewart;  Recording Secretary, James W. Willis;  Corresponding Secretary,  George B. Willis.

Directors:  Jas. G. Laughlin,  Smiley Shepherd, Robertus H. Stephenson

                                          (Liberator, March 29, 1834, pg 2)